Database List: N

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMN OPRSTUVWNumAll

National Guideline Clearinghouse
National Guideline Clearinghouse is a freely accessible database that provides systematically developed and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines to healthcare professionals. The guidelines are formatted into easy to read structured abstracts.

The database, put out by AHRQ, also provides syntheses of related guidelines as well as expert commentary on select issues.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Natural & Alternative Treatments is a complementary and alternative medicine database of evidence-based natural health information.

The online resource allows users to search alphabetically within the following categories: Conditions, Herbs & Supplements, Drug Interactions, Alternative Therapies, and Functional Foods.

The database's contents are also provided in Spanish.
NCBI Bookshelf
The National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. 
NEJM Resident 360
NEJM Resident 360 helps you prepare for your next rotation quickly and efficiently, provides support for coping with the pressures of resident life, and equips you to take the next major step in your career.
Rotation Prep supports your learning with an overview of the basics, and expertly chosen resources that provide the foundational information you need. Explore the educational features in Learning Lab, ways to connect with peers in Resident Lounge, and find career tips and guidance in Career.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides users with access to an extensive collection of regional, national and international newspapers.

The database contains bibliographic records to all its indexed sources and full-text coverage for a number of the world’s leading periodicals. In addition to archiving print resources, Newspaper Source also houses transcripts from leading television and radio broadcasts.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information visit: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718.
Newswires
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED) is a part of the collection of evidence-based medical databases in the Cochrane Library. The database summarizes and critically appraises studies that examine the economic costs of healthcare interventions. The database covers both completed and ongoing assessments, and presents its findings in easy to read citations and structured abstracts.

NHSEED, produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, provides systematically reviewed economic assessments to aid in informed and evidence-based clinical decision-making. The database contains over 5000 abstracts.

Note: NHSEED is a part of OVID's EBM Reviews Collection
NORD Rare Disease Database
NORD's Rare Disease Database provides brief introductions to more than 1,200 rare diseases. This is not a comprehensive database since there are nearly 7,000 diseases considered rare in the U.S. New topics are added on a continual basis, with the help of rare disease medical experts.  

If you are seeking information about a rare disease that is not in the database, it is recommended that you contact the Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD) at the National Institute of Health.  NIH has the most complete database of rare diseases in the U.S.

Individuals can access two full reports in a 24-hour period.

Nursing Reference Center Plus
Nursing Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive clinical-decision support resource that provides nurses with critical evidence-based medical information at point-of-care. Evidence is evaluated and distilled into easy to read structured summaries and guidelines that aid nurses in informed and quick clinical decision making. The core of the database includes evidence-based care sheets, evidence-based patient education handouts, and evidence-based quick lessons for nursing procedures.

The database's other online features include nursing reference books, legal cases, diagnostic tests, point-of-care drug information, medical illustrations, links to practice guidelines from The National Guideline Clearinghouse, research instruments, and continuing education materials.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information and to download the iOS app visit: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nursing-reference-center-plus/id1012491954?mt=8. For more information and to download the Android app visit: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ebsco.nrcplus&hl=en.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Click on the Continuing Education link (might be under the More dropdown). Search for or select a topic from the list. Click on the CE Module link. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Nutrition Reference Center
Nutrition Reference Center™, the premier point-of-care tool designed specifically for dietitians and nutritionists, gives users access to a trusted resource for education, practice and research allowing them to provide the highest level of care possible.


Mobile App:
A free mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information and to download the Nutrition Reference Center App for iPad and iPhone from the App Store. For more information and to download the Nutrition Reference Center App for Android devices from the Google Play Store.


CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Click on the Continuing Education button above the search box. Search for topic or select a topic from the list the Take a Continuing Education Course. Click on the link with “CE Module” in the link title. You will be redirected to the CINAHL Education website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules on the CINAHL Education website. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. More information about the CE credits is available on through EBSCO's support website.


Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Chat is unavailable, click to e-mail us.