Database List: O

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNO PRSTUVWNumAll

OAKTrust (College of Dentistry)
College of Dentistry theses and dissertations submitted to OAKTrust, Texas A&M University Library's open access document depository.
OverDrive
OverDrive is an eBook and audiobook platform that provides users with the ability to read or listen on line, through a mobile app, and within Amazon Kindle apps and devices.  OverDrive is a shared platfrom among the Texas A&M system schools. Baylor Health Sciences Library patrons have access to all shared titles in the OverDrive collection.

Borrowing a Title:

After selecting a title from the Library's OverDrive website, you will be required to log in to borrow the title. For Baylor Scott & White Health patrons, please select Baylor Scott & White Health - North Texas from dropdown list. For Texas A&M Baylor College of Dentistry patrons, please select Texas A&M Baylor College of Dentistry from the dropdown list. You will be directed to a log in page where you will use your institutional credentials to sign in. Once you have borrowed the book, click on your bookshelf to download the title or read it online. If you would like to download the Kindle version of the title, you will be required to log in to your Amazon account to transfer the content to your Kindle app or device.

Check Out Limits:
1. eBooks and audiobooks are available for a checkout period of 14 days.
2. You may check out up to 10 titles at a time.
3. You may place a hold on up to 10 titles at a time.

Return a book:
If you have not downloaded the book, you will see a return this book button on your bookshelf page. If you have downloaded the title, please follow the instructions listed here: http://help.overdrive.com/customer/portal/articles/1481263-how-to-return-titles-before-the-end-of-your-lending-period-

Mobile App:
To download the mobile app, click here: http://help.overdrive.com/customer/portal/articles/1481728-get-help-with-the-overdrive-app

For more information about using OverDrive, please click here: http://help.overdrive.com
Ovid Databases
Searching Ovid Databases allows user to select and search individual or multiple Ovid databases through a uniform interface. Ovid is a leading provider for a number of biomedical science databases subscribed to by the Baylor Health Sciences Library including the following:

Books@Ovid, Journals@Ovid (includes PSYCHArticles), Ovid MEDLINE, Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), Health Technology Assessment (HTA), NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED), EBM Reviews Full Text (Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club and Dare), All EBM Reviews (Cochrane DSR, ACP Journal Club, DARE, CCTR, CMR, HTA and NHSEED), Ovid HealthSTAR, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Ovid MEDLINE (In-Process ' Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE), and Ovid OLDMEDLINE.

Note: See individual database descriptions for more detailed information.
Ovid MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the authoritative bibliographic database of The National Library of Medicine, delivering comprehensive scientific records to articles in the life and biomedical sciences from 1950 to the present. The coverage of material is extensive and international in scope.

The database provides users with over 16 million citations to articles from over 4,000 academic journals in medicine, the basic sciences, nursing, dentistry, history of medicine, and health services research. The database also includes access to PREM. Citations and abstracts are categorized according to the NLM MeSH system for easy retrieval.

The OVID MEDLINE search interface allows users to focus and limit searches, and automatically map to NLM subject headings. An evidence-based medicine search limiter searches MEDLINE, DARE, ACP Journal Club, and Cochrane for EBM literature.

Note:See individual database descriptions for more detailed information.

This database provides evidence-based medical literature through search-limiter options
Ovid's In-Process and Other Non-Indexed Citations (PREM)
Ovid's PREM is a database of in-process and non-indexed MEDLINE citations from the National Library of Medicine. PREM provides basic bibliographic information and abstracts to records before they are indexed with MeSH headings and added as complete citations to MEDLINE.

Coverage of material is similar to that of MEDLINE, encompassing literature from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, International Nursing and other sources in the life and biomedical sciences.

Note: See PubMed: MEDLINE and Ovid: MEDLINE database descriptions for more detailed information.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is generally viewed as the recognized expert on the English language. It contains the meaning, history and pronunciation of 600,000 words along with 3 million quotations and over 1000 years of English. The OED differs from most dictionaries in that the historical meanings of words can be found along with present day meanings.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Chat is unavailable, click to e-mail us.