Database List: S

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRS TUVWNumAll

Salud en Espanol
Salud en Español offers comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all facets of consumer health and wellness. These reports provide overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. Topics include first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.
Science & Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection is a comprehensive database of scholarly literature in science & technology designed to provide researchers and scientists access to high quality and peer-reviewed journals in the field.

The online resource provides coverage to a wide array of topics including physics, materials science, biology, chemistry, computer technology, and molecular physics among others.

Examples of publications housed in the database include Journal of Applied Microbiology, Molecular Physics, Quarterly Review of Biology, Advances in Physics, and Engineering Management Journal.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information visit: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is Elsevier's full-text scientific literature database, providing users access to an extensive collection of authoritative titles in the physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. The online resource currently contains over 25% of the world’s scientific literature.

Medical literature is drawn from a number of reputable sources including journals such as Lancet, reference books, handbooks, and book series.

Materials may be easily searched on the ScienceDirect platform by specific title, publication type, or subject. Researchers may also search all these sources simultaneously via basic keyword seaching.
Scientific American Medicine
A comprehensive professional medical database which provides practicing clinicians and students with detailed and up-to-date medical information.
Scientific American Surgery
Scientific American Surgery provides practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information including cutting-edge reporting to incorporate relevant articles into the surgical database.
Scopus
Scopus is the world's largest bibliographic database of research literature and web resources. The database provides records to articles in the biomedical, life, and social sciences. Coverage is comprehensive and extensive in scope with the database containing all journals currently indexed in both MEDLINE and EmBase. Scopus is updated daily.

A noted feature of the database allows users to easily view the number of times an article is cited and connect to its cited references. Other online tools include a journal analyzer that comparatively graphs the number of articles published and total number of citations among other measurable journal impact factors.
Short Story Index
Short Story Index is a database for readers looking for short stories by author or genre and for those studying the body of work of a certain literary figure. It provides detailed indexing of more than 147,000 stories from over 6,900 collections and anthologies dating back to 1984.
Small Business Reference Center
 
Small Business Reference Center is a database that offers comprehensive instructions on small business topics such as buying and selling a business, managing employees, writing business plans, understanding legal information and more. There are more than 400 full-text periodicals, 450 full-text reference books and over 630 business videos. Features include state-specific resources, business basics, start-up kit and business plans and industry information by small business type.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Small Engine Repair Reference Center (SERRC) offers comprehensive yet user-friendly repair guides for all types of small engines. SERRC provides help with routine maintenance along with extensive repairs. Users can search by product, type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type and model numbers. There’s information from over 500 reference books on over 25 years of engine models and over 90,000 types of repairs.

 
Social Work Reference Center
This social work reference tool is designed for clinical professionals dedicated to improving patient quality of life. This resource includes care sheets, patient information, and images usable in all clinical settings - including hospitals, elder-care centers, and mental healthcare facilities. Topics are updated as evidence changes.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Mouse over the More dropdown at the top of the page and click on the Continuing Education link. Search for or select a topic from the list. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Springer Link
SpringerLink is a multidisciplinary database of full-text, scholarly literature. Publication types include academic journals, book and book series, and reference texts. The database covers a large scope of subjects from the humanities to the biomedical and clinical sciences. Searches may be performed within a specific title. Users may also search the database’s extensive collection by subject group or content type—allowing users to retrieve material from several sources.

Mobile App:
For information or to download, please see: http://www.springer.com/gp/eproducts/mobile/apps
Free iPad/iPhone and Android app for Springer Link content. After downloading the app and registering for an account, please contact the Library, askalibrarian@tamhsc.edu, to receive access to the Library's subscribed titles.
Springer Protocols
SpringerProtocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.

This site is optimized for mobile devices.
http://www.springerprotocols.com/cdp/view/AboutSpringerProtocolsMobileWebsite.html
STAT!Ref
STAT!Ref Medicine is a cross-searchable database of clinical, pharmacological, nursing, dentistry and nutrition reference book titles, and integrated evidence-based resources. The database functions as a comprehensive online clinical support tool for the assessment and treatment of patients by healthcare professionals.

Search results are organized for easy retrieval according to medical code, point-of-care, patient information, medical discipline, and drug information subject headings. Patient education materials concerning conditions and drugs are provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Conditions A-Z and Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer respectively.

The database's other online features include access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary, PubMed, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and MedCalc 3000.

Note: See individual database descriptions for more detailed information.

This STAT!Ref database provides patient education materials through AAFP Conditions A-Z, and patient level drug information via Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer.

Mobile App:
For information or to download, please see: http://www.statref.com/products/SRMobile.html
Free STAT!Ref app available for most iPhone/iPad, Android, and BlackBerry mobile devices.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Chat is unavailable, click to e-mail us.