Database List By Subject: Nursing & Allied Health

Databases
ABCDEFGHIJLMNOPRSTUVWNumAll

Alt HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth and comprehensive subject coverage in the fields of complementary, alternative, and natural medicine. The database indexes literature from hundreds of journals in such holistic fields as osteopathy, aromatherapy, homeopathy, naturopathy, and Chinese medicine.

Publication types include journals (including some academic and peer-reviewed), health reports, consumer newsletters, pamphlets, and book excerpts. An images collection is also provided.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information visit: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718.
CINAHL Complete Help Guide
CINAHL Complete is the world’s largest source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, and provides full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full text is provided for many of the most-used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete also provides indexing for more than 4,000 journals, and provides additional nursing and allied health research material including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. This comprehensive file is an essential research database covering all areas of nursing and allied health literature.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information visit: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Under Search Options on the lower portion of the main search page, select CE Module, and search for a topic. Click on the link with “CE Module” in the link title. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Films on Demand - Nursing Help Guide
400 streaming educational videos covering a broad range of topics in the nursing field, including skills and foundations. An ideal resource for student nurses and those studying for licensure exams.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Health Reference Center Academic is a full-text database of integrated health information materials from the nursing, medical, and allied and consumer health disciplines.

The database culls literature from a variety of sources including medical journals, periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and consumer health magazines. Health Reference Center Academic also provides access to an extensive multimedia resources collection.

This site is optimized for mobile devices.
Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic is a full-text database of integrated health information materials from the nursing, medical, and allied and consumer health disciplines.

The database culls literature from a variety of sources including medical journals, periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and consumer health magazines. Health Reference Center Academic also provides access to an extensive multimedia resources collection.

This site is optimized for mobile devices.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides healthcare professionals with scholarly information from a variety of medical disciplines with the core of the database consisting of a comprehensive nursing and allied health collection.

Clinical information is culled from over 550 scholarly full text journals. The database also includes the bibliographic records and abstracts to articles from nearly 850 peer-reviewed journals.

Other online features include access to drug monographs and patient-level drug information sheets. The online resource is updated daily.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information visit: http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5718.
Mosby's Nursing Skills Help Guide
Note: Must have individual login for off-campus access.
Mosby’s Nursing Skills is an online skills and procedures reference system.

NOTE: Please contact Nursing Education for information about individual login accounts.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Natural & Alternative Treatments is a complementary and alternative medicine database of evidence-based natural health information.

The online resource allows users to search alphabetically within the following categories: Conditions, Herbs & Supplements, Drug Interactions, Alternative Therapies, and Functional Foods.

The database's contents are also provided in Spanish.
Natural Medicines Help Guide
Natural Medicines systematically evaluates scientific data from the fields of complementary and alternative medicine, synthesizing and organizing the material into peer-reviewed and evidence-graded monographs. Monographs are provided at both the professional and consumer level to promote both informed clinical decision-making and patient education.

Monographs covering functional foods, herbs, and supplements critically review the safety, efficacy, pharmacology, and contraindications of such natural treatments. Searching by indication, comparative efficacy charts analyze and systematically grade the effectiveness of conventional and alternative treatments for the prevention and management of diseases. Evidence tables examining the reliability of current literature are provided as well.

Other online features include an interactive symptoms checker, online health calculators as well as databases on genomics, environmental resources, and health and wellness.

To find patient information handouts from the database, first browse for your appropriate subject term and select it; then choose the flashcard or bottom-line monograph option from the list of resources that appear.

Mobile App:
To access the full content, you must register for an individual account. The easiest way is to request a CE ID, even if you're not interested in doing CE. You may put in four 0s for the SSN field if you prefer.

CMEs:
Natural Medicines provides CE/CME courses, through their Clinical Management Series. Before completing the CE/CME, you will first need to create a CE ID. You will receive a statement of credit following successful completion of the activity. To take a course or find more information on the courses, visit the Natural Medicines CE/CME Center. ​
Nursing Reference Center Plus Help Guide
Nursing Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive clinical-decision support resource that provides nurses with critical evidence-based medical information at point-of-care. Evidence is evaluated and distilled into easy to read structured summaries and guidelines that aid nurses in informed and quick clinical decision making. The core of the database includes evidence-based care sheets, evidence-based patient education handouts, and evidence-based quick lessons for nursing procedures.

The database's other online features include nursing reference books, legal cases, diagnostic tests, point-of-care drug information, medical illustrations, links to practice guidelines from The National Guideline Clearinghouse, research instruments, and continuing education materials.

Mobile App:
A free EBSCOhost mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information and to download the iOS app visit: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nursing-reference-center-plus/id1012491954?mt=8. For more information and to download the Android app visit: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ebsco.nrcplus&hl=en.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Click on the Continuing Education link (might be under the More dropdown). Search for or select a topic from the list. Click on the CE Module link. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Nutrition Reference Center
Nutrition Reference Center™, the premier point-of-care tool designed specifically for dietitians and nutritionists, gives users access to a trusted resource for education, practice and research allowing them to provide the highest level of care possible.


Mobile App:
A free mobile app is available for iOS and Android devices. For more information and to download the Nutrition Reference Center App for iPad and iPhone from the App Store. For more information and to download the Nutrition Reference Center App for Android devices from the Google Play Store.


CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Click on the Continuing Education button above the search box. Search for topic or select a topic from the list the Take a Continuing Education Course. Click on the link with “CE Module” in the link title. You will be redirected to the CINAHL Education website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules on the CINAHL Education website. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. More information about the CE credits is available on through EBSCO's support website.


Patient Education Reference Center
Patient Education Reference Center™ (PERC) features a comprehensive collection of current, evidence-based patient education information for clinicians to print and distribute right at the point-of-care.
Rehabilitation Reference Center Help Guide
Rehabilitation Reference Center is a comprehensive clinical-decision support resource that provides rehabilitation professionals with critical evidence-based medical information at point-of-care.

The database organizes its material into the following easy to access sections: Diseases & Conditions, Drug Information, Patient Education, Exercise Images, and Practice Resources. Under Disease & Conditions, evidence is evaluated and distilled into easy to read structured summaries and guidelines that review key rehabilitation topics.

The database's other online features include rehabilitation books, research instruments, links to practice guidelines from The National Guideline Clearinghouse, and news.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Click on the Advanced Search link above the tabs on the main page. Select CEUs, and search for a topic. Click on the link with “CE Module” in the link title. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Social Work Reference Center Help Guide
This social work reference tool is designed for clinical professionals dedicated to improving patient quality of life. This resource includes care sheets, patient information, and images usable in all clinical settings - including hospitals, elder-care centers, and mental healthcare facilities. Topics are updated as evidence changes.

CEs:
CE credits are available through this resource. Mouse over the More dropdown at the top of the page and click on the Continuing Education link. Search for or select a topic from the list. You will be redirected to the CINAHLeducation website. You will either need to register for account or sign-in to your previously created account. Alternatively, you can register for account and search for modules here: http://ceu.cinahl.com. Once you have created an account, you can take CE module tests to receive credit. For more information on credits, click here: http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=4634.
Search Databases

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)
ArticleLinker enabled = OpenURL Enabled

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files


Chat is unavailable, click to e-mail us.